You & I

 

Image

I have always heard that patience is a virtue and 2011 could not have tested my patience any harder. The heavens have opened up to me and my start to 2012 has been unexpectedly good all because of persistence and patience. For some time now, I have believed in epiphanies and at the end of 2011, what was right under my nose all along finally made sense to me.  

Constantly we reject affection because we are not accustomed to it and we fail to give the right person a chance. Well, in all honesty, I should have given him a chance from the very beginning; and it’s not too late to give it a try. I guess, from a woman’s perspective, men like to take the lead, but I recently learned (from personal experience) that men like the simple gesture of affirmation, telling them that we are into them and want to work things out. If there was ever a chance, there will be more chances in the future which is not something I’ve sworn by before. For years now, I believed that if something did not work out in the first place that it was not meant to be; and the second time the opportunity presented itself, it would be too late. Truthfully, that’s what I thought was the outcome of this roller coaster of feelings I am going through, but having a permanent smile on my face for a week now told me I was wrong.

I was reading Pablo Neruda poems two nights ago before going to sleep: thank you for reminding me that I am a romantic, even when all hope seems gone or after doubts start to settle in my mind. I am a firm believer in better liked or loved than not have liked or loved at all, and this is one of those situations. Taking things slow, taking the time to get to know this interesting individual and finding out in depth how this person made it to your life is one of the best adventures anyone could embark themselves in. It might end up being a smooth sail or a complete shipwreck, but no one will ever know unless the risk is taken. There is no need to spend every waking minute with this person, having space between one another is always good, all they need to know is how you feel about them and that they are not the only ones in the crazy ride.

 As the months go by and as I grow up, all I have come to care about is finding the right individual that will make me a better person and truly get me and understand me. Isn’t that what we all want? I could search for a long time for something that is actually right in front of me, waiting for me to glance back his way and simply kiss him back. When that opportunity presents itself, all I have to do is hold his hand and walk by his side.

One Comment Add yours

  1. And I have noticed that smile, Coquito, …. I love you.
    Techy

Leave a Reply

