Papucho

Papucho. He was my hero since I was a little girl. I looked up to him, admired him and would never leave his side. Papucho is what I call my dad. Don’t ask me how I came up with that nickname but it stuck a couple of years ago. My dad is the nicest man I have ever come across in my life thus far. As I have mentioned before, he never laid a hand on me, is extremely passive and the best listener. Growing up, I knew I was a daddy’s girl. My life drastically changed when he moved back to Chile, but I keep in touch on a regular basis. He never judges me or questions my character and is always up for a good conversation. My dad always enforced on me my morals and a good upbringing, teaching me to be kind, respectful and to be myself. I can always count on him for a good laugh and awkward jokes.

I recently saw him when I traveled to Chile not long ago, and man do I miss him. It took me a while to process that he was not going to be part of my life on a daily basis, but I know he’s okay and where he belongs. I love the time I spent with him and loved seeing how he has not changed one bit. He’s a clumsy, sweet old man, the man I adore the most in this world. You see, he’s the type of man that’s not afraid to cry and I think I got the super sensitive side of me from him. So this post is to honor my dad, for giving me the privilege of being his daughter. I can only hope I have lived up to his expectations. I love you. Happy Father’s Day!

My dad when he was a kiddo.

 “The wise are wise only because they love”- Paulo Coelho

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pao says:

    And now crying!!!
    So true!!

Leave a Reply

